RU | DE | EN
Russia changes double taxation avoidance agreements terms with countries

Russia changes double taxation avoidance agreements terms with countries

The latest news regarding the revision of double taxation avoidance agreements (DTAAs)

The DTAA protocol with Luxembourg was ratified in February, thus the protocol entered into force on 5 March 2021 and its provisions will apply from 1 January 2022 (the changes were previously expected to be adopted from 1 January 2021).

The protocol increases the withholding tax rate on dividend and interest income to 15%, with some exceptions for institutional investments.

In 2020, protocols to make similar changes to the DTAA were also signed with Cyprus and Malta, with effect from 1 January 2021.

On 26 May 2021, the law No. 1147902-7 on the denunciation of the double taxation avoidance agreement with the Netherlands was approved and published. The adoption of the law leads to the fact that parent companies registered in the Netherlands will pay tax on dividends at a rate of 15% instead of 3-5%, and the rate for interest and royalties will be 20%.

On June 7, 2021 Russia notified the Netherlands about denunciation of the agreement, the changes will come into force on January 1, 2022.

Switzerland is the next major jurisdiction in the negotiation process initiated by Russian Ministry of Finance. There are 2 more key jurisdictions remaining for revising the DTAAs, said Deputy Finance Minister Alexei Sazanov, namely, Hong Kong and Singapore.

There have been no official announcements of changes to other DTAAs yet.


Eugenia Chernova, Project Leader Controlling and Reporting
swilar OOO E-Mail: eugenia.chernova@swilar.ru, T: +7 499 978 37 87 (ext. 310)
Olga Kireyeva, Project Manager swilar OOO
E-Мail: olga.kireyeva@swilar.ru, T: +7 499 978 37 87 (ext. 311)